Adorable post from my tumblr about kids for school/work:


So, I was at work this past friday morning. I was wearing this shirt that was white and sort of silky-ish. There is this little 3 year old girl that i’ve been working with for almost 3 years….so pretty much her whole life? She has a “boyfriend” in her class, haha. and they LITERALLY act like they are in love, never seen anything like it in my life, I would be so shocked if they actually don’t grow up to get married or something. She is so cute and very very girly and is obsessed with fairy tales and love and the like. She goes up to people and says “I am a princess and (name of boyfriend) is my prince charming!” Anyway, so she came up to me and was touching my shirt and all of a sudden she gets this look on her face. I mean her whole face lit up and she got SO excited…and she just says “your going to get married!!!!” haha. Me being a 24 year old female who has been single for over 3 years now and wondering if that is how things will always be, I said “oh really?” and she waited a few minutes and she says “you are a princess kitty!”. It was probably the cutest thing ever, seriously. Made me a little sad at the same time and made me almost want to be married and be a mom. But it got me to thinking, about the innocence of a 3 year old girl. To her, life is a fairytale. ALL girls ARE princesses, that is just how it is. you can’t argue that away making it untrue. girls ARE princesses. boys ARE prince charming’s….period. love not only exists, it is going to happen…period. To her, girls are beautiful amazing creations that should be praised and boys are strong heroic wonderful creatures, who also should be praised. In her mind, she literally is living a fairy tale. I wonder…..how we get so away from that innocence in adulthood. how does life go from a fairy tale to ehh….more like a horror film? Sure, as life goes on, it gets harder but by the same token, life isn’t perfect for that child. she deals with things, she endures things, she cries, she becomes sad or upset. But she still gets to play, she is fed, she takes naps, she gets her needs met. and so generally speaking, she is a happy child. I just wonder how our minds change into adults. Why the way we view the world changes SO MUCH….maybe we should spend more time “playing” and less time obsessing over our own personal “hells” and struggles. Maybe we should look in the mirror and TRY to see a princess or a prince.

p.s. the same child later that afternoon came up to me and said “i’m not married………….yet!” haha, she is so funny.

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Followers

About this blog

Recent Visitors